Post Date: 2015-08-21

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Stooks View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Stooks Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: 980 Ti in Vanquish Lv.2
    Posted: 21 Aug 2015 at 7:10pm
Hey everybody, I'm looking to upgrade the GPU in my Lv.2 Vanquish 3 pc and have my eyes/heart set on the GTX 980Ti. Is this even doable, let alone worth it? Should I instead go with the GTX970 and use the leftover money that would otherwise be spent on the 980Ti for some other component upgrade to the machine? (Looking to spend give or take $700)

If the question itself hasn't conveyed this clearly enough, I'm very new to this awesome world of Pc Gaming/computer specs in general. (Hence why I bought a prebuilt, I'm a recovering console peasant forgive me lol)

I guess in other words, if you owned a Lv.2 Vanquish 3 and were given $700 specifically for the purpose of upgrading, what would your move be? Gracias.

Edited by Stooks - 21 Aug 2015 at 9:32pm
db188 View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Quote db188 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 21 Aug 2015 at 10:26pm
with those computer specs you're in the 1080p realm anyway, so no real reason to upgrade beyond a GTX970.  maybe invest in a really nice 1080p monitor if you don't already have one?  
Snaike View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Just a dude trying to keep the spam away

Quote Snaike Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 22 Aug 2015 at 5:14am
db's got it right... GTX970 is all you need. I'm looking to upgrade my own Vanquish and am now focused on the GTX970 + RAM (16Gb) as I already have a decent 1080p monitor (with a 16x9 second that does just fine).

Good luck and keep us informed.

OH!... and welcome from the console world. A nice place, to be sure, but just not the same as the PC Gaming world.
ChromeMax View Drop Down