FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

A little overwhelmed, looking for optimal Blender

Post Date: 2015-09-03

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
blendedmark88 View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote blendedmark88 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: A little overwhelmed, looking for optimal Blender
    Posted: 03 Sep 2015 at 10:55pm
Budget:
$4000-$5000 (can push to 6k if absolutely necessary to future proof)

Expectations:
The best build I can get with the most efficiency and reliability. I'm looking for great GPU acceleration and also CPU power. I want a computer which can easily be upgraded over time and is overall worth the investment.

Usage:
Primarily using for Blender and other 3D animation, but I also work as an editor and use Adobe Premiere, Avid, and FCP.

Special Needs:
Would prefer to have a quiet-ish computer, and with all the cooling options, a build that won't give me trouble down the road. Must be able to handle 3D renders very well for big scene projects and variable time length (3 minutes to an hour).

I've been incredibly torn because, I must confess, I'm a Mac enthusiast. However, I just can't justify spending the crazy amount on a new Mac Pro with its limited customization. Also, I use Blender and Apple only uses AMD now which does nothing for GPU acceleration. I have been thinking that this is the best bang for my buck, so to speak.

I've been looking at the Aventum II or Slade, but as I said, I feel very overwhelmed with all the options...especially in the cooling, power, and motherboard department.
 View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

Quote  Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 03 Sep 2015 at 11:44pm