FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Liquid cooling GPU: Worth it?

Post Date: 2016-07-11

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
narmio View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote narmio Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Liquid cooling GPU: Worth it?
    Posted: 11 Jul 2016 at 10:27am
I'm a machine learning researcher and gamer looking to build a ~$5k machine for combined CUDA and gaming uses -- probably 75% work, 25% play. That gives me a few non-gaming needs: lots of RAM, very fast primary storage, single GPU (as CUDA can't leverage SLI), things like that. I can post more specific thoughts on my config, but right now I have one question: is it worth getting a liquid cooled 1080, or will the ACX 3.0 cooler do the trick?

For those that don't know, training deep neural nets will absolutely hammer a single graphics card for hours and hours. I'm looking for this machine to last me a good few years of what equates to benchmark-level for very long periods. Long training times really bug me, so the highest stable GPU overclock would be very much appreciated -- a few % difference is really noticeable in a 10-hour training time. Plus normal gaming use when I'm not working, of course!

Given that, does it make sense for me to get:

A) A Hydrolux Lite cooled CPU (likely a 6850k) and ACX-cooled 1080, spending the money saved elsewhere.
B) A Hydrolux Lite for CPU+GPU.
C) A Hydrolux Pro for CPU+GPU.

Will the liquid cooler make for significant gains in stability, lifetime or performance? Will the difference between Lite and Pro?

Also: I heard that DS can only put the 1080 FE under water, as the blocks they use aren't compatible with the EVGA board? Is that a factor in my decision, or is it all the same once properly cooled and OCed?

Cheers, DS community!
Xenecus View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.