FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

My Very First Gaming PC..Please chime in!

Post Date: 2017-02-08

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
husky337 View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote husky337 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: My Very First Gaming PC..Please chime in!
    Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 3:50pm
Hey guys,

I'm a long time Apple fanboy (don't kill me please! :) ) who has been thinking for the past year or so about adding a Gaming PC to my arsenal. I have been pretty happy with Apple products as I am not that technically inclined so their products are very easy to plug and play, and more importantly I love their minimal, sleek, "finished" designs. Their design ethos is really prevalent in all their products which I also really like with my iPad, iPhone, and MacBook Pro.

However, I'm looking to get more screen real estate and I'm curious to try a Windows machine after being away from that OS for so long. My 15 inch MacBook Pro, as big as it is, is too small for me for what I do at home with multiple windows/applications open all the time. I did buy their 5k LG Display to hook up to my MacBook Pro 15 a couple weeks ago, but I hated the look of the LG display, it caused my MBP to run very hot, and it was buggy. So that kind of was the straw that broke the camel's back. Want to try something different than an iMac too. I've spent some time researching building my own PC but honestly I think for the setup I want and expectations I have for my own PC, it is a bit more complicated than what I might be able to craft on my first attempt. So I've been researching around at the different custom PC makers and I really fell in love with the Bolt 3 design, for me it is the perfect mix of sleek, minimal, and "Apple-y" for lack of a better term but I also love the glass window showing the internals and giving it a more "mechanical" look if that makes sense.