FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

"Built in Administrator Account"

Post Date: 2015-06-12

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
ST7A Bad Karma View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote ST7A Bad Karma Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: "Built in Administrator Account"
    Posted: 12 Jun 2015 at 8:22pm
I received my new Velox rig this afternoon. I'm new to Windows 8.

The new Win8 "Start" screen, whenever I click on anything but the Desktop window I get the following message:

"This App Cant Open"

"________ can't be opened using the Built in Administrator Account. Sign in with a different account and try again".

When I attempt to sign out from the Start screen I'm signed out, then im taken to some rainbow splash screen. There are no options on that screen. I click anywhere on that screen and I'm taken to another screen and the only option I can find is the "Admin" account dead center of the screen. There's no option I can find to log in as Owner, User. Even when I try to log off from the desktop it takes me back to that same screen. Same result, no other log in options. Just "Admin".

I'm assuming the guys building my rig didn't log off as admin prior to shipping. I've already installed anti malware and antivirus as the Administrator. Will that software be available if I sign in as owner/user?

Edited by ST7A Bad Karma - 13 Jun 2015 at 3:04pm
forrest74 View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

Quote forrest74 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 13 Jun 2015 at 10:50am
Bad Karma,

I am on my iPad and cannot cut and paste the solution. Very sorry.

I did Internet search for "built in administrator account". There are instructions on how to disable this for all Windows versions since Vista. I assume you have Win8.1.

The best solution I found was on the Windows EightForums, eightforums.com, in their tutorials section.