FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Switching from Mac...

Post Date: 2015-03-03

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
pjnormz View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote pjnormz Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Switching from Mac...
    Posted: 03 Mar 2015 at 5:15am
I am an editor/filmmaker in need of an upgrade from my fully upgraded mid 2010 mac pro. I was going to get the new trash can, until I read tons of problems with the new macs working with Adobe. That lead me to the PC world and by high recommendation from my peers, to DS.

Since this is my first custom build, any and all feedback is much appreciated. Am I overdoing it with the HydroLux? Am I right for going with the TITAN Z over the K4 or 50000?

One thing I am clear on is my drive set up. The 1st 256gb SSD is for programs, the 2xHDDs are for video files, stock, audio, and the other 256gb SSD is for cache.

Thanks in advance!

Budget:
~$8-10k

Expectations:
A smooth transition with a beast of a machine that can handle 4k workloads.

Usage:
Video production: specifically 4k footage using adobe suite & plugins, resolve, etc. for video production.

Saved Ticket #: 1157227

Specifications:
Chassis Model: Special Deal Hot Seller - Black OPS Aventum II
Exterior Finish: Onyx Black Matte Finish with Red Stand
Trim Accents: - Standard Factory Finish
Processor: 1x (Intel Xeon 10-Core E5-2690 v2 3.0GHz (25MB Cache) (Ivy Bridge-EP) <br><strong></strong>
Motherboard: ASUS P9X79-E WS (Intel X79 Chipset) (Workstation Class)
System Memory: 64GB DDR3 (Server/Workstation ECC Registered) 1600MHz Digital Storm Certified (8GBx8 Config) <br><strong></strong>
Power Supply: 1050W Corsair HX1050
Expansion Bay: Dual Solid State Hard Drive Hot Swap Bay <br><strong></strong>
Optical Drive: - No Thanks <br><strong></strong>
Storage Set 1: 1x SSD (256GB Samsung 850 PRO) <br><strong></strong>