FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Vanquish 4 Review

Post Date: 2015-12-29

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Flick View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Flick Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Vanquish 4 Review
    Posted: 29 Dec 2015 at 5:23pm
Hello! This is my review of the Vanquish 4 from Digital Storm.

MY GOAL

I am not a die hard gamer, but I definitely do like gaming from time to time. Years ago I used to build my own PC's, so I am somewhat familiar with hardware and the like, but I have been using laptops for the last five years or so. I was looking to upgrade to a desktop PC for work (software development) and gaming (while keeping the laptop for portability when needed). I had a budget of $2,000, which took me several months to save up (that's a lot of money to me, so it was important I get the most bang for my buck).

Having used an iMac (and it's insanely great display) at work, I knew from the start I wanted a 27 inch display, with at least a 2560x1440 resolution. I also wanted an IPS display panel that could capture 100% of the sRGB color space (after using an iMac there was no going back to TN display panels). I did some research and settled on this monitor: ASUS MX27AQ (I can't post links but a Google search will get you there).

My only complaint with the monitor is that it is 60hz, but "gaming" monitors at 144hz with IPS are out of my price range so I had to make some compromises. The monitor was a bit more expensive than I would have liked (at $450), but the display is incredible. If this monitor had G-Sync, I would rate it as "perfect".