FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Watercooling and intercontinental travel...

Post Date: 2016-09-12

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
narmio View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote narmio Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Watercooling and intercontinental travel...
    Posted: 12 Sep 2016 at 6:11am
So, two months ago I was all set to order a new all-liquid Velox. Then I found out that in about 9 months I'll be relocating for work to somewhere 9,900 miles away. In about six months all my stuff will be going in a shipping container. That's a bit terrifying.

I'm now back and ready to order again, but I have some questions about open vs closed loops and arduous international travel.

* How risky is it to ship an open-loop watercooled system leaks-wise? Is going for Hydrolux Lite (which I believe is a closed loop system?) safer in this regard? I'm a watercooling novice and shipping it back for service is probably not going to be easy...

* Can I re-use the packaging the machine will come in? Is there some non-reusable component (expanding foam, etc) I need to buy? I hear DS packaging is great stuff, would they be willing to sell me an extra set of whatever they use in the box?

* Would it make sense to disassemble the machine (or at least remove the GPU) for the big move? How complicated is this in an open loop? In a closed loop?

* For reference, here's my current thinking, although this is far from finalised: https://www.digitalstorm.com/configurator.asp?id=1478598

(Mods: Should this be in config discussion? Please move it if you think so.)

Edited by narmio - 12 Sep 2016 at 6:14am
DST4ME View Drop Down
DS ELITE
DS ELITE

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Quote DST4ME Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 12 Sep 2016 at 9:46am