FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Help me build my new monster

Post Date: 2010-09-20

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
SomervilleTom View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote SomervilleTom Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Help me build my new monster
    Posted: 20 Sep 2010 at 8:32pm
I'm new to the forum & to Digital Storm. I'm a software developer who is also addicted to FlightSim. I'm replacing my ancient (2003) Gateway WinXP box. I'm trying to follow the marvelous guidelines offered by !ender_, please be patient with my newbie mistakes.

Budget: $2500 (soft) +/- 300 is ok, not including shipping.
I have my own monitor, mouse, keyboard, and sound system. My monitor is a recent SamSung 1600x1200. I also have a CH products usb yoke & pedals.

My Use:
- Every day: Run fsx. I want to run FSX at 20+ fps at full-screen (1600x1280). Heavy programming. I watch videos. Email/Web/Doc prep.
- Frequent: Image manipulation/graphic design
- Occasional: Video capture/edit

Special needs:
- Store 400-500G of videos. I generally acquire 150-200G/year
- Excessive dust (I have a cigar habit)
- Port and run extensive suite of 32bit XP apps
- Port and run old (2003) MS Office suite. I do NOT want the "new improved" versions.
- Reliability -- I value rock-hard reliability over an extra 10% of performance.
- HD backup -- I want raid1 for current failure protection. I want to be able to swap old files to removable HDs for offsite storage.

Questions:
I'm having trouble getting the configurator to let me say what I want (perhaps it isn't possible). Let my try it in English here:

1. I want to use the expansion bay to swap SDDs between Win and Linux system disks, one for win and one for linux (probably RHEL, but anything that uses yum will do). I think this means two 40G (intel) SDDs, one at a time.