FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Help Me Pull the Trigger

Post Date: 2016-04-15

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
zenlunatik View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote zenlunatik Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Help Me Pull the Trigger
    Posted: 15 Apr 2016 at 5:27pm
Hi everyone,

I've been browsing here for what might be actual years, and have finally built up the determination and budget to make a purchase. The catch is I'm a total amateur, so I find that I'm still hesitating because I don't know how to confidently evaluate the options. These forums are very helpful, but I'd still appreciate any advice you experts care to dole out :]

Primarily wanting a gaming and media machine. I've been on a 2009 Macbook since, well, 2009 and have succumbed to PC envy. And that envy turns to lust on this site and so I'd like some second opinions before throwing all my money at pretty things.

Budget:
My build right now is at $2739. I'm feeling okay with that, though it's still a bit higher than I initially imagined. So I'd like to avoid too much of an increase unless absolutely necessary.

Expectations:
Nothing hardcore. Single display. I have a 4k tv that I'd like the option to hook up to every once in a while, but the primary screen will be a standard 1080p monitor.
Essentially, I don't want to be disappointed. I don't want to get a game and have to drop the settings, or feel obsolete or outdated anytime soon. And though it starts to seem like irony when I realize many of the games I'm enjoying now use pixel art, I'd still like to smirk arrogantly at the system reqs for the odd graphically demanding game I want (looking at you, Total War).