FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

new pc, stuff need to be done

Post Date: 2019-09-06

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
randyfarish View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote randyfarish Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: new pc, stuff need to be done
    Posted: 06 Sep 2019 at 10:11pm
Hey folks, I'm new to the world of a dedicated gaming PC. I currently own a 6-year old cheapo Toshiba laptop that can't hardly run Google Chrome without crashing. I wouldn't call myself a video gamer at all, but I have dabbled in Starcraft since the 90s and would like to get a PC to play it again.

Budget:
Not set in stone but want to spend as little as possible.

Expectations:
To run Starcraft II smoothly and efficiently on all the lowest settings. I'd also like to give Star Wars Battlefront a try if possible.

Usage:
Starcraft II, maybe Battlefront, no web surfing whatsoever. Possibly I'll let my kids play Minecraft if that doesn't create a problem or risk for the machine.

Special Needs:
None. I'm looking for the most basic and cost-effective way to play computer games on a reliable machine.

Saved Ticket #: ?

Specifications:
?

Does the most basic version of Vanquish 7 fit my needs?
Cretae View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran
Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Cretae Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 07 Sep 2019 at 6:31am
"Does the most basic version of Vanquish 7 fit my needs?"

No. The Vanquish line is no longer offered. It's been replaced by the Lynx, which, IMHO is a more attactive package.

The most basic option does not come with a dedicated video card, and therefore often falls short from day one of providing happy gaming.