FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Advice on a Lumos Config for Photoshop/Gaming?

Post Date: 2018-02-21

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
doginthefog View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote doginthefog Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Advice on a Lumos Config for Photoshop/Gaming?
    Posted: 21 Feb 2018 at 3:12pm
Hello! I'm looking to get back into the PC Desktop world after several years away from the scene. I was initially looking at the Vanquish lvl 4, but then I started playing around with the custom Lumos configs to see what I could get there. I've survived the last 6 years on a lil' MBP, so I'm clearly not *that* hardcore, but I want something that's going to last and do it's job well.

As I said, I've been out of the scene for a couple years now, so a little help would go a long way!

Build ID: 1853155

Budget: < 3K (machine only; already have all the extras)

Usage & Expectations:

I'm a digital illustrator who spends a fair bit of time working on rather large .PSD files in Adobe Photoshop. I use a Wacom Cintiq for this (basically a 2nd monitor you can draw on.) I also make use of Illustrator, Flash, InDesign, and the rest of the creative suite... but Photoshop is by far the leader. I've also recently started to dabble in 3D modeling using Z-Brush, which I realize can be pretty intensive on a machine.

This is also going to be my primary gaming machine, since I've managed to miss out on the entirety of the most recent generation of consoles. I'd say I lean towards the casual side of things though; I'm not particularly obsessed with 4k/FPS/etc. I've got a 1080 monitor, I'll likely also use my TV (slightly older - 2010?) as a 2nd monitor for when I want to game on the couch with the dog. (Or for streaming movies, media, etc.)

Special Needs: