Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Jake N. View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Jake N. Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Need help picking a pc
    Posted: 06 Mar 2018 at 5:43pm
Budget:
I am looking to spend around 2k to 2.5k

Expectations:
I am new to the PC world and am making the switch from console gaming. I want to be able to play any game(mainly FPS) smoothly without running into any issues.

Usage:
Mainly gaming, but also general web surfing and the occasional word document.

As I said, I am new to the PC world and do not know much in terms of what I need. I have been looking between the Velox and Lumos and do not know where to start. I plan on playing games like Fortnite, Overwatch, PUBG, Battlefield and other random games and I want a computer that can handle them without issues.

Thanks ahead of time for any help!
Marshy22 View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Quote Marshy22 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 06 Mar 2018 at 6:24pm
Hey there! Try this config out: 1862907

It's on the high side of your budget but should be able to crank out most the games you mentioned at 1080p max/high settings and near 100FPS. The only exception is PUBG which you may see some irregular FPS but that's mainly because the game isn't the best when it comes to optimization AND you should still get more than 60 FPS on average.

This config would also be able to run your games at 1440p should you decide to get one at some point.

You may also want to swap out the power supply as that's one component you shouldn't skimp out on. You don't need more wattage per say, but I usually go with trusted brands like Corsair and EVGA.

For some extra context on some of the parts; the biggest driver of gaming performance is your GPU or graphics card. The 1070 is a beast of a card but is also quite a value for your money type of deal.