Online Status: Offline
  Quote condor Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Photographer vs. Gamer
    Posted: 18 May 2016 at 2:57pm
Budget:
2500 - 3000

Usage:
Photographer, light video

Saved Ticket #: 1416207

First and foremost I’m a photographer, with some very light video editing with Adobe, and NOT a gamer. However, I am very impressed with DS and gaming machine specs, although I have been on Mac for about 12 years. This will be my first PC of this type, and even though I am not crazy about using Windows, I know many photographers that are happy with it.

I am interested in the Velox and I certainly want to future proof my purchase. I think my budget is going to be around $2500, maybe a little more. My biggest issues are about 4-core, vs. 6-core, like… is it ridiculous for a still photographer to worry about that many cores? My largest files get around 3gb each during editing in Photoshop. The other issue is all this cooling I see, that I am completely unfamiliar with. It seems to come with the CPU cooling, so is the GPU cooling another silly thing for a “photographer?”

Last thing that is bugging the heck out of me is SSD size for my primary drive. The forums I read never address the question or actually answer the problem of “how much” since 99% of the persons responding (not this forum - my first time here) say “get what you need” then get this or that as a second drive. Problem is if I want the OS, and say, my Lightroom catalog, and Photoshop scratch disk to be on SSD - I have no clue what is needed? I don’t mind springing for the 512 SSD if I need to, but the 1TB looks to be just a bit too expensive for me.

Guess that is about it for now, thanks so much for any time and consideration.

I’m a little over my budget here, but I came up with this config first: Digital Storm Velox (Config # 1416207)
Thomas
db188 View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.