FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Cooling

Post Date: 2016-01-26

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
here2learn View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote here2learn Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Cooling
    Posted: 26 Jan 2016 at 1:07pm
Hello,

I'm pretty new to the liquid cooling world. I see that DS offers the 240mm liquid radiator and also Hydrolux cooling. The rig I am planning to build will have 2 video cards so if i did the hydrolux it would be the level 3.

Is hydrolux worth the extra expense or is the 240 more than enough? Any pros/cons I should be aware of with respect to either type of cooling system?

Thanks!
FrankW View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

Quote FrankW Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 26 Jan 2016 at 1:35pm
Hi here2learn,

The 240mm liquid radiator is a closed loop cooler for the CPU. The GPUs will be air cooled with this option. You could also go with the Corsair 110i cooler that uses slighter larger (280mm) fans and radiator.

The Hydrolux 3 would give you cooling on your CPU, both GPUs and the Chip set. The Hdrolux is a custom loop built for your particular computer.

The Hydrolux will give you the best performance but is costly. It takes some periodic maintenance but just routine stuff. The closed loop system is free of maintenance but may not last as long.

Frank    

Edited by FrankW - 26 Jan 2016 at 1:37pm
db188 View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

Quote db188 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 27 Jan 2016 at 1:26am