FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Help on choosing the right custom PC

Post Date: 2015-11-11

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
dusT View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote dusT Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Help on choosing the right custom PC
    Posted: 11 Nov 2015 at 10:30pm
Budget:
[3000-5500] "Canadian Dollars" I am a student and will be using some loan money to purchase this PC. So I would prefer to not go over budget.

Expectations:
[Gaming, Multi-Monitor Setup (2-3), The odd Programming]

Usage:
[Alot of gaming, schoolwork]

Special Needs:
[I do not need a lot of storage right off the bat and can add extra myself as required]

Specifications:
My current setup is a -------- Laptop with a Graphics amplifier/GTX970 and I really don't enjoy it. I got it as a gift and would like to get myself a killer rig to satisfy my own needs.

I am starting university in January, I will be taking some basic classes with my main course being Introduction to Computer Programming. I am a heavy gamer and play pretty much every new game that comes out, whether it be a AAA or indie titles. I am not super interested in 1440p or 4k gaming, as long as it looks good and runs smooth at 144hz.

I have only ever built one PC, and it lasted me a few years. I know how to put one together, but I would prefer to have someone else build it. I want clean cable management, and good parts.

I am pretty set on sticking with Nvidia Cards, and Intel CPUs just because I enjoy them best. Ever since the 980 ti card released I have wanted it. So the 980 ti would be my preferred GPU. But of course I would be open to any suggestions.

Basically I am looking for expert advice, aswell as other buyers experiences with Digital Storm as I have not purchased from them before. I only hear good things and now that they are setting up shop in Canada I feel like they would be my best bet to buy boutique.