Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
stnick97 View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote stnick97 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: New +/-$3,000 build help
    Posted: 26 Aug 2015 at 11:26am
Hello everyone,

First time post and first time custom build so bare with me I'm a noob. Here's a little about what I have and need.

I am a contractor and run everything off of my computer. I design with a 3D program, draw blueprints, contracts, payroll, quickbook and also photo editing.
I currently have an Asus G75VX laptop and it runs good but I need faster. I usually keep multiple tabs open including the 3D program, microsoft word, excel and internet tabs.

Here is the build config I have now.

Is it worth it to upgrade to the Asus x-99 rampage?
Do I need the speed of the Ram to be that high or is 2400 ok?
Are my fans good/ liquid cooling?

Specifications: 
Chassis Model: Special Deal Hot Seller - Digital Storm Apollo
Exterior Finish: - Standard Factory Finish
Trim Accents: - Standard Factory Finish
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K 3.5GHz (Six-Core) (Unlocked CPU)
Motherboard: ASUS X99-DELUXE USB 3.1 (Intel X99 Chipset)
System Memory: 16GB DDR4 2800MHz Corsair Vengeance LPX (High-Performance) <br><strong></strong>
Power Supply: 750W EVGA SuperNOVA (750 B1)
Expansion Bay: Internal Digital Media Card Reader (Black) <br><strong></strong>
Optical Drive: DVD-R/RW/CD-R/RW (DVD Writer 24x / CD-Writer 48x)
Storage Set 1: 1x SSD (512GB Samsung 850 PRO)
Storage Set 2: 1x Storage (1TB Western Digital - Enterprise Edition)
Storage Set 3: - No Thanks
RAID Config: - No Thanks
RAID Card: - No Thanks
Internet Access: High Speed Network Port (Supports High-Speed Cable / DSL / Network Connections)
Graphics Card(s): 1x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 4GB (Includes PhysX)
Sound Card: Integrated Motherboard Audio
HPC Processor: - No Thanks
Extreme Cooling: H20: Stage 2: Corsair H110i GT - 280mm Radiator Liquid CPU Cooler (Extreme Performance)