FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Advice appreciated; new to PC gaming

Post Date: 2021-09-04

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Stewshine View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Stewshine Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Advice appreciated; new to PC gaming
    Posted: 04 Sep 2021 at 5:40pm
Hello!

After about a week of hovering over the checkout button, I've finally went through with purchasing a level 4 Lynx. I'm completely new to the PC gaming scene so I don't know what to expect nor do I know what else to setup along with the PC itself. Any advice for setting up my new PC with the proper equipment, advice on how not to make it spontaneously combust on the 1st day, or just general tips for someone new to PC gaming is highly appreciated!

And yes, I do understand I need a monitor to go with the PC itself so any recommendations for that is appreciated as well!
MrCheetah View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Quote MrCheetah Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 04 Sep 2021 at 9:48pm
I think, this is a good starting point reference:

How to set up your first Digital Storm PC | YouTube

When checking or otherwise handling components, it's best practice to touch the computer case or other metal outside of the computer first to discharge static electricity.

You can use third-party anti-virus, anti-malware, etc programs. However, Microsoft's integrated Windows Defender is normally plenty. The best tool is being observant, rightfully cautious, and otherwise sensible.

Stay Safe from Phishing and Scams | YouTube
(Surprisingly, this video does very well pointing out the common social engineering methods.)