FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Cooling with new mobo, cpu

Post Date: 2022-07-18

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Digi27 View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Digi27 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Cooling with new mobo, cpu
    Posted: 18 Jul 2022 at 3:35pm
Upgrading Digital Storm pc mobo to Z690, CPU i7-12700K and RAM DDR5 32GB 5200, but i don't know if i need a different cooler than DS's cooler with copper pipes. Would the already existing cooler be compatible with the new hardware? It's my first time upgrading a prebuilt

-Current Specs-

MPG Z490 Gaming Edge Wifi
i7 10700K
6GB DDR4 2800MHz Digital Storm Certified Performance Series
RTX 3060 Ti 8GB
Cretae View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

Quote Cretae Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 19 Jul 2022 at 4:41am
The newer procs from Intel have run progressively hotter over the last two generations. You'll want all the cooling you can afford. I recommend a dual fan radiator AIO for your CPU.   
hoserator View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

We don't need no stinking "Avatars" !

Quote hoserator Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 19 Jul 2022 at 4:09pm
+1

You can still get some more use out of your system by just adding some RAM and maybe a stronger gpu. What monitor(s) are you using?
Digi27 View Drop Down

Quote Digi27 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 19 Jul 2022 at 5:12pm
@Cretae Would the AIO be replacing the pipes or those aren't for cpu? Because i don't know if i have to do anything with them or need to attach them to a new AIO

@hoserator I need more power since I am looking at getting into game development and those programs would run better with these upgrades
Cretae View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

Quote Cretae Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 20 Jul 2022 at 4:26am