FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Going from Windows XP to 7 Home Prem.

Post Date: 2010-04-06

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
jp619 View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote jp619 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Going from Windows XP to 7 Home Prem.
    Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 7:01pm
I have an XP machine that I want to install windows 7 on. I am new to this, and I have the guid that I found on these forums.

http://windows7homepremium.windowsreinstall.com/windows7installguides/indexfullpage.htm

How do I uninstall windows XP? or do I just install windows 7 and it will override XP?
Thanks for the help.
Exsidium View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Quote Exsidium Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 7:08pm

You can overwrite but the best install is a clean install.  Store all your personal files or files you want to keep on another drive or back them up to some discs or whatever means you have available.  Once you have everything you want off the drive (not including apps, you'll have to reinstall those) then format the hard drive, boot to the win7 disk and follow the directions. 

jp619 View Drop Down

Quote jp619 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 7:12pm
Yes i want to do a clean install, I am not saving anything :P
Exsidium View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Quote Exsidium Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 7:19pm
then just format the drive, boot to the windows 7 disk and be done with it

this is a decent walkthrough..  There are other ways of doing this but this might be easiest for you: http://hubpages.com/hub/How-to-Format-Hard-Drive-and-Install-Windows-Operating-System

Edited by Exsidium - 06 Apr 2010 at 7:41pm
jp619 View Drop Down

Quote jp619 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 8:30pm
Thank you

ablahblah View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.