FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Heavy photoshop / gaming use - suggestions?

Post Date: 2021-02-04

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
fairwitness View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote fairwitness Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Heavy photoshop / gaming use - suggestions?
    Posted: 04 Feb 2021 at 2:04pm
Hi all,
I'm digging into spec'ing out a new PC. I had a custom built by a local shop about 4 years ago, but the ram has gone bad, it's super noisy and I'm having all sorts of bluescreen issues plus video problems. It's time to upgrade!

I'm an artist, heavy photoshop work, some video in Premier, starting to also get interested in 3d modeling. ALso, I like gaming andwhat can I say, I still love Skyrim and am waiting on CPunk till the bugs are worked out....

My thoughts on the Sabrent drives is the main one is for OS/apps/files and the 2nd is the dedicated Photoshop scratch disk, with the others being my RAID backup.

Budget:
Would like to get good value, and not overspend if not needed, but was thinking this is likely in the 8-11k range.

Notes on monitors/video:
I am using 3 32" 4k monitors AND a Wacom Cintiq 24 pro which is a 4k display tablet for drawing. Currently with my 1080Ti, I am getting video stuttering everywhere and many of my photoshop brushes lag WAY behind my wacom pen when I'm doing digital painting.

Thanks all for the suggestions!

Specifications:
Chassis Model: Aventum X
Exterior Finish: Black Metallic Matte Finish
Trim Accents: - Standard Factory Finish
Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 3950X (16-Core) 4.7 GHz Turbo
Motherboard: ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero (Wi-Fi) (AMD X570 Chipset) (Up to 3x PCI-E Devices)
System Memory: 128GB DDR4 3200MHz Digital Storm Performance Series
Power Supply: 1600W EVGA Supernova 1600 (80 Plus Gold)
Expansion Bay: - No Thanks
Optical Drive: - No Thanks
Storage Set 1: 1x SSD M.2 (8TB Sabrent Rocket Q) (NVM Express)