FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

How do I deal with male chauvinist gamers?

Post Date: 2018-09-13

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
thegamer27 View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote thegamer27 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: How do I deal with male chauvinist gamers?
    Posted: 13 Sep 2018 at 12:41am
I’m a gamer and have been playing games since I was a kid. I’m no pro by any means, but I genuinely enjoy the whole experience. The camaraderie with other gamers, exploring virtual worlds, and just investing time and effort into certain games. However, what’s really ruining things for me is how some gamers can be real jerks online. They say derogatory comments like “women from USA are dumb and over privileged” or “women can’t really play games good enough”.

I’ve been gaming for YEARS and I know that these comments shouldn’t bother me, but coming from someone who genuinely enjoys playing and appreciates the hard work that game developers put into their product, it really does ruin the experience for me in many ways. How do I deal with this? I know I can block them and trash talking is part of the “fun”, but some of these comments are way below the belt to be considered jokes.

Snaike View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Just a dude trying to keep the spam away
Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Quote Snaike Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 13 Sep 2018 at 1:34am
What works for me, because I don't want to listen to other's opinions and "trash talk" while I'm playing, is to turn off chat.

If "trash talking" is part of your game, and you dislike it, then it's up to you how you handle it. If it were me, as I said, I take responsibility for me and move "me" out of the way.

But ultimately, it is up to you.
bprat22 View Drop Down
DS ELITE
DS ELITE

DigitalStorm East -- (Unofficially!)