FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

In need of some help/advice.

Post Date: 2013-06-29

Post Reply Post Reply
Page  123 4>
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Arwen View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Arwen Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: In need of some help/advice.
    Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 12:43pm
Hey guys,

My +6-year old Beast is getting tired and cranky, so I’m shopping around for a new gaming PC. I’m not a techie by any stretch, but I do have some idea of what I think I need (based on what I've been reading on the web for the past month or so). Yet I'm still relying on my instincts more than anything else when I try to figure out exactly what I need. There are just too many things that I'm unsure about.

Budget: $3000 (but my config attempts keep coming out a bit higher than that).

Expectations: I would like to be able to run all the current games (and flightsims) at high FPS, with most settings on max. Plus I want a system that will not need to be updated for at least a few years.

Usage: Games (I’m an avid gamer) and Flightsims (FSX, X-Plane, DCS); web design (I run a girl-gamer website and a gaming forum); modding tools, including programs for modeling and sound edits (I make huge overhaul mods for RPG games like Fallout 3).

Special Needs: Getting the best system I can afford, with all the various components well matched (making sure that no item is causing a performance bottle neck).

Saved Ticket #: 848609

Specifications:
Chassis Model: Special Deal Hot Seller - Digital Storm ODE V3
Exterior Finish: - Standard Factory Finish
Trim Accents: - Standard Factory Finish
Processor: Intel Core i7 4770K 3.50 GHz (Unlocked CPU) (Quad Core)
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z87 (Intel Z87 Chipset) (Features Thermal Armor and Thermal Radar)
System Memory: 16GB DDR3 1866MHz Corsair Vengeance Pro (High-Performance)