FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Looking for a Gaming Computer

Post Date: 2020-12-14

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
8pointorbetter View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote 8pointorbetter Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Looking for a Gaming Computer
    Posted: 14 Dec 2020 at 8:59am
Hello! I am looking for a gaming computer for my 14 year old son. I am sure it's too late to configure one and get it by Christmas? I am new to the computer gaming world as is he and I would like a set-up that will be good for a couple years and work for what he wants to do. He plays first-person shooter games and some sports games. I was thinking the Lynx Ultimate although we did configure some that I believe would be better, but again, I would like him to have it for Christmas. Also, if I went with the Lynx Ultimate, what type of monitor should I get?
grasoline View Drop Down

Quote grasoline Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 14 Dec 2020 at 9:06am
Hi - I think I can say confidently your only chance at getting a PC by Christmas would be to go with a pre-build. The backstock on parts is still very limited worldwide - so you'd be looking at a much longer time to ship. I think the Lynx Ultimate would be more than enough for your son to game competently, based on those needs.

Quote 8pointorbetter Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 14 Dec 2020 at 9:26am
Do you think I would have to do any upgrades by this time next year? Do you happen to know the lead time on customer build?
grasoline View Drop Down

Quote grasoline Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 14 Dec 2020 at 9:32am
As long as your son isn't looking for the best possible performance out of the most demanding triple a games, or isn't concerned with 4k video editing or high-productivity tasks you shouldn't need to upgrade for a few years.