Post Date: 2020-09-30

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Dino58 View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Dino58 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Model Segmentation
    Posted: 30 Sep 2020 at 3:22pm
Old DS customer: mid-2011. Gus is still running well (after new fan, new PS, and new non-melted GPU over the years.) But it's time.

I primarily game. I'm not a PC novice, but I haven't kept up. I REALLY don't like fluid running next to AC , so when I found out DS doesn't offer air-cooling anymore, I went and researched every one of their competitors. Most I would never hand money to; none are any better and most are much worse on the business side. So here I am, holding my nose on AIOs after much YouTubing. And I don't really understand the product line-up reasons-for-being.

On the Lynx, Lumos, and Velox lines, what is the one-line distinctive difference between them? I see the case footprints, but after I load guts they're really interchangeable, within a band, on price. The Lumos seems to be all about light shows (I'm not), but offers a Slade X case with solid sides. And so on.

So, what is the core idea of each product line?

Edited by Dino58 - 30 Sep 2020 at 3:23pm
DS customer since 2011
Bob100 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Quote Bob100 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 30 Sep 2020 at 8:06pm
Air cooling is still available, at least on the Lumos model. The configurator lists this option: AIR: Stage 1: High-Performance Copper Heat Pipe Cooler. I have that on my Lumos and it works fine.
hoserator View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

We don't need no stinking "Avatars" !
Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Quote hoserator Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 30 Sep 2020 at 11:36pm
Welcome back.