FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Multitask Gaming...

Post Date: 2008-09-27

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Swinder6kz View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Swinder6kz Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Multitask Gaming...
    Posted: 27 Sep 2008 at 6:25am
Apologies for the wall of text but I like to be thorough.

Ok, I've been looking into building a new PC for a few months now.  My budget is around 1800 give or take I will be using a 24" Samsung once I get my new PC (1920 x 1200 Resolution).  I've been playing nothing but WoW for the past 4 years which is why I'm still slugging by on a 2GHz single core AMD w/ a gig of ram and a 6600gt.  With this monster setup I am somehow able to dual box wow clients and run 2 accounts I want to be able to do this on my new PC.  But I don't want to drop the settings to nothing to do it. 

I have been told you can't expect long term upgrades in this day in age, but my best-buy store bought lasted me 5 years I'd like to pull at least 3 out of my new PC with minor upgrades.  I don't play extremely intense games, AoC was about the highest running game I've played.

Basically cut short I'm a hardcore raider in WoW I haven't been able to run max settings while raiding with a 40 fps in 3 years and I wanna change that.

This is what I have in mind:

Specifications:
Chassis: Digital Storm 950Si
Exterior Finish: - Standard Factory Finish
Interior Finish: - Standard Factory Finish
Power Supply: 750W Corsair HX (Dual SLI Compatible) (Silent Edition)
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz (1333MHz FSB) (12MB Cache)
Motherboard: NVIDIA 750i SLI Core 2 Quad (Chipset nForce 750i SLI)
System Memory: 4GB DDR2 800MHz OCZ
Card Reader: - No Thanks
Hard Drive 1: 500GB Western Digital (16MB Cache) (7200 RPM) (SATA)
Hard Drive 2: - No Thanks
Raid Option: - No Thanks
Hard Drive 3: - No Thanks
Optical Drive 1: DVD-ROM/CD-ROM (DVD Reader 16x / CD Reader 40x)