Post Date: 2008-07-23

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
schulni View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Online Status: Offline
  Quote schulni Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: My review - pictures of DS + rig!
    Posted: 23 Jul 2008 at 10:22pm
Warning - this will be an exhaustive review. I'm an English teacher, so sue me! I figure it might help someone. Just skip around if you aren't interested in reading everything. Oh, and I'll put the pictures first so you don't have to wade through too much text. The review is at the end, for those that might be interested. 

In case you are wondering, I did actually pick up my computer. My Prius barely handled the box! The thing is not small. And yes, I play a lot of tennis. It's my other hobby.

Here is the main entrance. Nothing pretty, but it is an industrial park on the outskirts of Silicon Valley, so don't expect much.

Even if you get it shipped, this is what the box looks like. There's the binder and accessories box on top.

And here's the main event - 850si, 1000w Corsair PSU, Q9450 overclocked to 3.2, GTX 280, overclocked DDR2 Corsair extreme performance, stage 3 air cooling.

People remark about how big these are, but honestly I was still surprised. I could practically live in this thing. Here it is absolutely dwarfing my old Dell XPS, which was a larger than average computer in its own right.

So big it doesn't fit under the desk! My fiancee was not pleased...It will have to go to the side, but no worries. By the way, that's a 22inch Samsung touch of color HD monitor - only $350 at Costco right now. I definitely recommend it. I also bought a Logitech G15 keyboard and G5 mouse, both of which I like so far. As you can tell, I'm not an audiophile ($20 speakers, sorry Widdlecat).

Vista 64 bit loaded right up. I had no stability problems whatsoever (a decided advantage of living locally). The welcome screen even had my name on it!