FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Need Some Advice

Post Date: 2009-12-25

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Riizu View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Riizu Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Need Some Advice
    Posted: 25 Dec 2009 at 3:50pm
Hello, I have heard of DS over the years, and am looking for a solution to the replacement of my 3yr old HP So I can adequately play any games out now and the better ones coming out in the future. I've been shopping around for close to 6 months now, and want to make sure I get the absolute best buy I can. I have a 22" monitor and an old HP keyboard and mouse though I am considering getting a razer mouse and keyboard. I originally had a system picked out that was $1127 or so from Newegg.

-I5 750
-4gig G.Skill ram
-1TB hard drive
-CD DVD reader
-MSI P55 GD65 motherboard
-Antec Earthwatts 650w power supply
-HIS Radeon HD 5850
-HAF 922/Storm Scout/Element G
-Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus heatsink
-Win 7

Through DS, I have picked almost EXACTLY the same components, and the price has come to about $1600 dollars. The most I can boil this down to is that im paying $300-$400 for customer support and the warrantee. I have no doubt that DS has great service from what i've recently seen, but is it worth this price difference? I recieved $1250 for christmas to finance this and im trying to work out how to make this work. The biggest issue im running into is that I have never fully assembled a PC that I plan to use myself. Couple this with the lack of a warrantee and my father is fairly skeptical.

Using iBuyPower the price is extremely cheaper, but the customer support is spotty at best and many people seem to recieve busted PC's. Doghouse Systems were even more overpriced.

Thank you for reading this and I hope I can get this worked out.
Clinton View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie