FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Need some help

Post Date: 2015-02-08

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
KGEliminator View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote KGEliminator Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Need some help
    Posted: 08 Feb 2015 at 12:10pm
Hi there! This is my first time on the forums, and I'm writing this from my phone so I apologize for any spelling errors.

So here is my dilemma. My cpu has been overheating and shutting my computer down automatically while I play games. I know this because of asus suite that shows me a bunch of stats on my computer. So I knew I needed to replace the thermal paste on my cpu in order to stop this from happening. I ordered the thermal paste and thermal paste cleaner and received it in the mail today. I proceed to take off my heat sink to get to my cpu, and as I unscrew all the screws the back panel that holds the heatsink in place under the mother board falls down.

So I now have to unplug all my components and cables to lift my motherboard up just to get to this piece. I end up cleaning old thermal paste, putting the new one on, ( only a pea sized amount) and I screw the heat sink back on. I put the whole motherboard back into my case, screw it back in, and plug in all the cables. I put my tower back, plug in the power, see the LED turn green inside my computer, and press the power button. Nothing happens.

So needless to say my computer is not starting up right now and I do not know how to approach this. I have unplugged and replugged all cables in, looked for any bent pins in the cpu. Everything seems fine but it just won't turn on.

My computer is a pre-built digital storm marauder- level 2 just in case people wanted to know. Any questions or advice would be amazing! Thanks!
bprat22 View Drop Down
DS ELITE
DS ELITE

DigitalStorm East -- (Unofficially!)