FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Need to control RGB on CM fans from Redux PC.

Post Date: 2022-02-08

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
ozzuneoj View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote ozzuneoj Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Need to control RGB on CM fans from Redux PC.
    Posted: 08 Feb 2022 at 1:04pm
TL;DR: Got a second hand PC with a Digital Storm fan controller and 5x 3pin (NOT pin_blank_pin_pin) RGB Cooler Master fans (look just like MF120s) and no remote. The motherboard only has 4pin (12v,RGB) headers. What are my options to control the fan lighting? The 3-pin connectors don't seem to match any industry standard RGB controllers.

I've been building PCs for 23 years but I've never really been into RGB stuff, so this is my first encounter with RGB fans.

I got a smoking deal on a budget PC a couple weeks ago. It came with an Asus Prime B460M-A in a "Redux" branded Cooler Master TD500 with 5x matching CM RGB fans.

There was no remote included with the PC and the motherboard only has 4pin (12v, R G B) headers, while the fans (which look like MF120 Halo fans) each have a simple 3 pin connector (NOT the pin_blank_pin_pin ones). They were all connected to a Digital Storm fan controller board on the back of the case which gives them a constant rainbow effect. I disconnected the 3 front fan LEDs for now, and I took a picture of the controller. You can see the 3pin fan plugs loose on the left side:

Does anyone know what I can use to control these? I have a feeling this thing originally had a remote, but I have no idea if it's possible to get a replacement. I also realized more recently that the fan controller starts acting up if I connect more than a couple fans so I may end up replacing it anyway... but I'd really prefer to replace it with something that could control the RGB as well.

Thank you for any advice you can give.

Edited by ozzuneoj - 08 Feb 2022 at 1:20pm