FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

New gaming rig advice

Post Date: 2011-01-19

Post Reply Post Reply
Page  123>
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Coronablade View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Coronablade Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: New gaming rig advice
    Posted: 19 Jan 2011 at 1:01am
Budget: Roughly $2500-$3000(more towards the 2500 range, depending on how much the wife lets me spendDrooling)
Expectations: I want a computer that can handle what I throw at it and more for close to next 3 years with minumal upgrading ( 3 years is a lot in a gaming computers lifespan, i realizeBig%20Smile) I am a hardcore gamer when I've got the time ( which is alot more when my wife gets deployed in March). I'm also looking to use this for school so it needs to handle Visio, maybe multiple Virtual Machines at once, etc. I am an ITCNS student. Eventually when I get the extra money I am going to make this a 2-monitor setup as well ( my wife is the one who actually suggested it, cuz she's freakin awesome like thatHahaha)
Usage: Like I said, I am a hardcore gamer when I've got the time. Once my wife gets deployed I am going to be raiding heavily in WoW, and doing some heavy SCII play, possible try out DOA2 on PC as well. Also I would this for school as well, so handling multiple Virtual Machines is a plus.
Special Needs: I am going to try to stick the OS on the 40GB SSD and possibly SCII, and WoW if it'll fit. Plan on partitioning the 2nd HD for data/music/movies/pics and the other for other possibly applications/games/patches for WoW and SCII.

Hey, this is my first offical post on Digital Storm forums, but I have been actively searching your website for 6 months+, looking at customer reviews, researching different builds, extensively researching each indivivual piece I wanted on this rig.