Post Reply Post Reply
Page  12>
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Raif View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Raif Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: NEW plz help with config ty
    Posted: 10 Nov 2009 at 1:23pm
hey guys i am new to the DS community i plan to buy within in the next few months. i would like to have this computer for 5+ years with little to zero upgrading. the resolution i will be gaming at is 1900 x 1200p at a minimum. also experimenting with the idea of eyefinity... my budget with out tax 9k.

in terms of storage i don't need loads of it, this will purely be for games only. i'll let my older computer do my music, browser surfing ect...

on this rig i really want SSD preferably OCZSSD2-1CLS500G if not then i will settle for the 2x 256GB SSD. Also whats the difference between the two SSD choices availible in 256GB? What happened to the OCZ SSD on the configuration list?

I do have a ? though would it be better if i overclocked a i7 920 or 960? some people tell me the 960 has more advanced architecture and will be able to take the stress of extreme overclocking better then its brother the 920.

Also if i do have any overkill please tell me what it is and why. i would'nt mind saving a few bucks if i could. also if a area needs improving i am also willing to take that into consideration.

one last thing i am worried about PCI-E slots. i do a lot of internet gaming and the Xeno pro would benifit me, would it be better to scrap a sound card and use intergrated motherboard sound? or scrap the Xeno Pro and keep the sound card?

thanks for your time and patience.
ticket # 352083

DST4ME View Drop Down
DS ELITE
DS ELITE

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Quote DST4ME Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 10 Nov 2009 at 3:28pm
at your resolution you will never notice the difference between your config and this one for gaming, you got a lot of overkill.