FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

New to Computers; Trying to Buy a Gaming PC

Post Date: 2017-04-27

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
DWhalen View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote DWhalen Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: New to Computers; Trying to Buy a Gaming PC
    Posted: 27 Apr 2017 at 1:59pm
Hello DS community,

I am very new to computers, I've only started looking into them over the past month or two. I am not really interested in building a PC and Digital Storm looks quite reputable, so I am looking to buy one from here this summer.

Budget:
My budget is about $2,500 Canadian MAX, but I would prefer to stay around $2,000 if possible. This price is not including any accessories, which I will need to purchase later.

Expectations:
My expectations for this PC is that it is fast and reliable, but also upgradable as games change. I have never owned a desktop computer and have barely played any computer games, but from what I gather I would like for it to run most games smoothly on a 1080p monitor. I plan on having a duel monitor setup (2 x 1080p), one for gaming and the occasional video editing in programs like Sony Vegas and After Effects, while the other monitor is for simple multi-tasking.

Usage:
I plan on using this computer for gaming mostly. The games I plan on buying as of this point are H1Z1, CS:GO, and Overwatch, but I would like it to run other more advanced games if needed. I do the occasional editing of short (1-5 minutes) videos, so I would like this to be smooth as well. I do not plan on editing and playing games at the same time if that makes a difference.

Special Needs:
This computer is going to be placed in my basement likely, so while it is quite clean I would like to make sure dust doesn't effect the computer too much.

Saved Ticket #: 1653308

Specifications:

Chassis
Chassis Model: Digital Storm VANQUISH 6

Core Components