FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Noob's HDD Partitioning Questions

Post Date: 2009-11-17

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
B5GkarNarn View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote B5GkarNarn Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Noob's HDD Partitioning Questions
    Posted: 17 Nov 2009 at 10:29am
I'm a noob & I'm curious about partitioning hard drives (both internal & external). 

1) What are the pros & cons of partitioning hard drives?

2) Is there a tutorial for partitioning hard drives in Windows 7?

3) Are there any special considerations that I must take into account when partitioning hard drives & using Acronis True Image?

Please note that my new DS rig has 2 internal hard drives: 
HDD 1: 500 GB
HDD 2: 1 TB

I'm also going to try & assemble my own external hard drive & I'm need your help in figuring out whether or not I should partition it. 

Seelig View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Quote Seelig Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 17 Nov 2009 at 12:01pm
1.   What are the pros and cons of partitioning a drive ?

Partitioning is generally done because you are trying to address a problem. If you want to run multiple operating systems, that would be a reason to partition (ie. vista and W7 or Linux and Win7. Partitioning is done if you want to segregate data. This could be data you want to share vs data you don't want to share or it could be OS data vs application data.

2.   Is there a tutorial ?

Partitioning is done within the disk management menu item.   Start -> Control Panel -> System and Security -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Storage -> Disk Management

There is a help facility though it is not particularly useful.