FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Questions and Advice about a Hailstorm Rig

Post Date: 2012-11-22

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
zhelder View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote zhelder Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Questions and Advice about a Hailstorm Rig
    Posted: 22 Nov 2012 at 9:14pm
Hi everyone. This is my first post on the DS forum. I have been salivating over these computers for a few years, and I am now finally at the point where I am very seriously considering a purchase.

About me: I am a veteran, experienced computer user, but my needs are not super hardcore. My current desktop computer is just about five years old, and it has made me crazy for most of those five years. I want a system that can run some decent games - now and in the future, but I don't need triple monitor support or anything like that. My goal is to get a computer that I won't have to touch internally for at least two years (preferably three) and that will last me for five. I'm trying to stay in the $3000 or less range, but I'm starting to see that I may need to go a bit over this to get what I want.

I've been looking at the Hailstorm, and I've been playing with the Level 2 rig. Here's the configuration I put together:

Chassis Model: Special Deal Hot Seller - Black OPS HailStorm Edition
Exterior Finish: - Standard Factory Finish
Trim Accents: - Standard Factory Finish
Processor: Intel Core i7 3930K 3.2GHz (Unlocked CPU for Extreme Overclocking) (Six-Core)
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth X79 (Intel X79 Chipset) (Features USB 3.0 and SATA 6Gb/s)
System Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz Digital Storm Certified Performance Series (Highly Recommended) (Hand Tested)
Power Supply: 800W Corsair GS (Dual SLI Compatible)
Expansion Bay: - No Thanks