FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Should I Upgrade my computer or buy a new one?

Post Date: 2019-08-26

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
jsbzpt View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote jsbzpt Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Should I Upgrade my computer or buy a new one?
    Posted: 26 Aug 2019 at 12:39pm
Budget:
[flexible but would like to keep it under $1000]

Expectations:
I have an old computer that DS built for me. It has been the best computer I have ever used but it is getting older. I would like to upgrade it if possible but I am not sure if I would be better off just buying a new one. I am a photographer and am having trouble with photo editing. I would like to upgrade to a larger solid-state hard drive and add an additional storage drive. I would also upgrade the processor and graphics card. Would I need to upgrade anything else? What graphics card and processor would you recommend?   

Usage:
[Photo and video editing]

Specifications: This is my current hardware

- OS Name     Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
- System Type     x64-based PC
- Processor     Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz, 3601 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
- BIOS Version/Date     American Megatrends Inc. 3305, 12/25/2012
- SMBIOS Version     2.7
- Hardware Abstraction Layer     Version = "6.1.7601.24408"
- Installed Physical Memory (RAM)     16.0 GB
- Graphics - NVIDIA GeForce GTX660 Ti (4095 mg total memory)

jsbzpt View Drop Down

Quote jsbzpt Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 26 Aug 2019 at 12:43pm
Here is a more complete specs list of my computer.

Chassis Model: Special Deal Hot Seller - Corsair 650D
Processor: Intel Core i7 3820 3.6GHz (Turbo Mode up to 3.8GHz) (Quad Core)
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth X79 (Intel X79 Chipset) (Features USB 3.0 and SATA 6Gb/s)