SLI/Vid Card Bugs?

Post Date: 2009-06-22

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
ablahblah View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote ablahblah Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: SLI/Vid Card Bugs?
    Posted: 22 Jun 2009 at 2:59pm
Hey, I got a DS system with two 9600 GTs in an SLI config. I can't seem to attach a second monitor, is this because the SLI config dedicates all processing units to one monitor? Sorry, I'm not too experienced with the fine tuned aspects of computers yet, haha. Also, I play the online games Combat Arms and  Operation 7 in my free time, don't know if you've heard of them or not. Anyways, if I play any of them for a while, the video output gets abruptly cut at a sudden time, though the BGM is still there. The time it takes for this to happen is usually dependent on how high I have the in-game quality settings at, leading me to believe it's a video card hardware error. After a while, that freezes. Sometimes, when I reboot after this occurs, windows pops up a message saying the video card drivers failed. I recently read that after a crash and finally figured out its a hardware problem (I'm an idiot =D) . After updating the drivers, the problem is still there... I have the system set on carpet (srry, no time to get it redone), do you think this problem might be caused by overheating? I have a primitive CPU cooling system (no budget ='() and extra case fans. If so, would setting the comp on one of those clear plastic carpet protectors help? That's what I'm trying right now. Help!
DST4ME View Drop Down
DS ELITE
DS ELITE

Quote DST4ME Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 22 Jun 2009 at 3:23pm
you have 2 dvi out puts right? you need to connect both monitors to the first card.

what are your temps under load ?
Zurginator View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie