FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Some questions that might impact build.

Post Date: 2010-12-26

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
TheInternets View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote TheInternets Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Some questions that might impact build.
    Posted: 26 Dec 2010 at 3:51pm
I just had a few questions I thought I would also ask about. If I am wrong about something please let me know because I am not very technical.

I hear and read some articles about the dual-gpu boards coming from Nvidia and Amd/Ati and was wondering if I ever wanted to upgrade to those boards when they come out, would my 750W PSU be able to handle it? I am not looking to get into SLI anytime soon and I think SLI might require a higher PSU such as a 1000W and I am just wondering if those upcoming video cards would require the same.

My second question is regarding Solid State Drives. I know people who use them and have read many articles about them. A few people whom I personally know have had issues with them that are consistent with what is written about online. Mainly about drives slowing down or going dead. My concern is how easy are they to maintain? What I mean is I hear about drive cleaning, some recommend maintaining 20% or more free space, TRIM, limit file movement/deletion on the drive to slow degradation and having to shut down page file. I know about the huge performance boost of an SSD but just would like your guys' take on whether it is a worthwhile option for someone who likes to install and delete games or programs every few weeks. Would having an SSD as a secondary drive show improvement to gaming or does it have to be the OS drive? I think my overall mindset right now is concerns over reliability.