FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Suggestions for first purchase

Post Date: 2019-08-23

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
dbenjamin86 View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote dbenjamin86 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Suggestions for first purchase
    Posted: 23 Aug 2019 at 8:29pm
Hello, all. I am new to Digital Storm forums and the whole PC Gaming world. I was looking for some suggestions/input on my first purchase. I will be using the computer for basic audio/video editing as well as gaming. I don’t need something on the extreme high end as the computer wont be dedicated for gaming and I don’t play a lot of games. Mainly, I want something that can handle all games and look good, as well as handle audio editing. Also, since I will be recording audio, I need the computer to be as quiet as possible.

I have been looking st different Lumos/Lynx builds, butnhioing for some input from actual users.

Thanks!
Cretae View Drop Down
DS Veteran
DS Veteran

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Quote Cretae Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 24 Aug 2019 at 5:50am
Budget and monitor resolution are the controlling factors. The most costly single part is usually the GPU, so we need to know what you're going to be using it to drive.
EJMate View Drop Down

Quote EJMate Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 24 Aug 2019 at 7:56am
I ordered a Lynx Ultimate at the beginning of the month, just hit stage 6 yesterday, so should be shipping sometime early next week I'm guessing. I ordered it for very similar reasons to what you have listed there. I wanted something that could handle gaming well, as well as some audio editing for my guitars.

I ended up getting the Tier 4 Lynx config and MSI Mag24C Monitor option. Ill post a follow up when it arrives and I've had some time to play around with it.