FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Upgrade 32 Bit Vista to 64 Bit

Post Date: 2011-12-07

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
MarkT View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote MarkT Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Upgrade 32 Bit Vista to 64 Bit
    Posted: 07 Dec 2011 at 8:56pm
Ok. Assume I am a newbie....a rank amature. Assume I know nothing.

I want to upgrade my Digital Storm System from 32 bit to 64 bit, so I can take advantage of more RAM (currently only have 2GB).

My system is 64 bit capable, so here is my question.

Do I clean unstall a 64 bit version of Vista, then convert to a 64 bit version of Windows 7?

Or do I upgrade to a 32 bit version of Windows 7? And then clean install to a 64 bit version of Windows 7.

Or am I an idiot and should just send my computer back to DS and let them upgrade me! Help.

Thanks everyone.

MarkIm%20with%20Stupid
Mark T.
jmaster299 View Drop Down

Quote jmaster299 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 07 Dec 2011 at 10:08pm
Check This for a Vista to Win7 how-to-guide.Basically you can go from Vista to Win7 Home Premium using the "Anytime Upgrade" option that will preserve your files. If you are doing a clean install it does not matter which one you use as it's a fresh install and will wipe your drive.

The Anytime Upgrade is also cheaper then a normal full version too.

DST4ME View Drop Down
DS ELITE
DS ELITE

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Quote DST4ME Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 2:25am
You can't upgrade your 32bit to a 64bit, it has to be a fresh install of 64bit.

MarkT View Drop Down

Quote MarkT Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 5:08pm
Thank you for the comments....the problem is that I can only go from 32 bit Vista to 32 bit Windows 7.