FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Upgrade questions on 5yr-old DS system

Post Date: 2017-01-02

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
daniel940 View Drop Down

Email address used to purchase matched with forums account email.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote daniel940 Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Upgrade questions on 5yr-old DS system
    Posted: 02 Jan 2017 at 8:33pm
I have a busy, home-based graphic design business, heavily multi-tasking, three large monitors and a bit of an open-tab addiction. I spend most of my time in apps from the latest version of Adobe CC, including occasional professional video editing.

I have a 5-year old Digital Storm system, which is holding up like a champ, with some upgrades I've made along the way (better video card, SSDs). I have a Cooler Master case with six fans (top, front, back and side), and it runs quiet, so I'm not really hurting any - but it's time for some more upgrades. I'd enjoy some more speed and more RAM.

I currently have:

* Intel Core i7-3930K (6 cores)
* 16MB DDR3 1600 RAM
* 2GB GeForce GTX760 video card (running 3 monitors)
* OS and primary data files are each on SSDs
* Noctua NH D14 air cooling for the CPU
* ASUS P9X79 Deluxe motherboard

I'm not comfortable building a system from scratch (configuring motherboards and such), but I can obviously install individual hardware components. Now, I can start over with Digital Storm and spend another $2,500-$3,000 and get a great rig (if I reuse my HDs), or I figure I can spend about $600-$1,000 and upgrade a bunch of components.

Here's what I'm considering:

* New RAM: 32MB DDR3 1866 RAM (~$200)
* New CPU cooler (since I have to remove the Noctua in order to swap the RAM anyway): Noctua NH-D15 (~$85)
* New processor (since I'm replacing the CPU cooler anyway): Intel Core i7-6800K (~$400)