FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Woe is me!

Post Date: 2008-07-16

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
MCLMM View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote MCLMM Quote  Post ReplyReply bullet Topic: Woe is me!
    Posted: 16 Jul 2008 at 7:18pm
Yea I am new to the DS community, and while I do not have a DS system yet I do plan to get one. Unfortunately I cannot afford it right now.

Well I am mourning for my now dead "gaming notebook". I have owned it for just over two years, I had it built by Sager (I can hear the laughter) and while I normally would not purchase such a thing due to the thermal and upgrade issues they face. I was deploying to Iraq for my second time and I needed something more portable than a desktop so I could take my PC gaming with me.
My problems started while I was playing one of my favorite shooters "Day of Defeat: Source". While pwning faces my frame rates  plummeted, to what reminded me of playing Max Payne using the slow motion feature. I spent hours troubleshooting the thing until I said "hell with it". Then I decided to just wipe my raid 0 array and start from scratch. Then another issue, when I would go through the windows install process my screen would shut off at random. Then the system would reboot on its own, over-and-over-again, until I forced it to shut down.
I don't smoke anymore so at this point I had almost used up a full can of copenhagen. I decided to take it to the nearby tech shop for a diagnostic. The guy was impressed that there was no dust or dirt inside. He said that because when other soldiers bring in their laptops complaining about issues he opens them up to find not only excess dust but sand, effing sand! As an enthusiast I know how to take care of my system whatever it may be at the time, so this made me lol.